NW4 Section 9, T19S, R35E, Lea County, NM

Hello! I’m hoping someone can help - as I’m totally new to this. I was tracked down by a leasing company to ratify rights to an existing lease due to someone passing away. I received a leasing bonus, and recently were contacted by a company wanting to purchase the property. I have a few questions. I own approximately 13.33 acres.

1. Do I need to pay any sort of property taxes?
  2. Do I need to get a deed of some sort put into my name?
  3. How does leasing work in general? Lease is up in Oct 2021, will we have an option to resign etc?

Thank you so much in advance.

It appears that Catena Resources Operating in San Antonio has drilled at least one producing wells in your tract - CABLE 19 35 9 STATE COM #001H; API 30-025-46140. A couple wells have been drilled, but perhaps not fraced. If so, then this well will hold the lease and it will not expire. You need to do some research to see if you have royalties in suspense as you would not want your own money to pay for the purchase. You need to do some research. Did you sign a lease ratification or an actual original lease? Who is your lessee and has your lessee participated in any wells (ie paid its share of the drilling costs)? Is your predecessor in title listed as the mineral owner (maybe lost) and what do you need to do to clear the title? Do not sell until you have all the information. Contact your lessee and also Catena.

TennisDaze, Thank you SO much for all of this information! I ratified a lease with Catena. I’m not certain what to do with the title. How do I find out who the lessee is?

When I say I’m new to this - I’m 100% clueless type new ha! Your input is so greatly appreciated!