November 2020 Purchase Offer

Hello,

I am a fist time poster as I just stumbled upon this forum in my research.

I recently received a purchase offer for my Mineral Rights in Howard County. However, the most recent leasing company, who is also drilling, just sold their interest to a different company. That has caused the buyer who offered to purchase my rights cut their original offer, by almost half. The buyer is claiming it is due to the uncertainty of the new leasing company.

In addition to the reduction of the offer, the idea of a Well Bore Lease was brought up in addition to the reduced purchase price. I am not familiar with this at all. Any help would be appreciated. No documents have been signed. Just a offer letter and phone conversation.

I can give specifics if it will help, but since this is my first time posting I don’t know the proper etiquette as far a naming specific companies, acreage, offer price etc.

Thank you in advance for any assistance of guidance to find more information.

Welcome to the forum. There have been quite a few postings on offers in Howard County. Use the magnifying glass at the top to search for them.
Proceed with caution. Anyone who offers plans on making a profit off of you. Not saying that is bad, just that this is a business proposition. Learn about the area, what pending drilling is coming (or not), what royalties you might already be due, etc. Catch up on the other postings as they have some good comments.

Thank you for the sound advice Martha.

These mineral rights have been in my family for several decades. I inherited mine about 12 years ago. I am familiar with the industry but still a novice at any rate. There have been several offers over the years, all I felt did not warrant serious consideration at the time.