Non-Participating Royalty Interests in Blaine County

I'm very new to this, got a speculative call a few weeks back to buy some mineral rights at $500 an acre.
The area is 11.42 acres in NE/4 Section 16-16N-10W and another 15.23 acres in S/2 Section 28-17N-10W.

I realized that an initial cold-call bid is not the best offer so I started looking around and found this site. I found a lawyer and started talking about getting the title straight and in my name (instead of deceased grandfather). She found other parties willing to offer ~$3300 an acre.

Now here's where I'm confused. I don't need the money now. If I can spend $10k on getting titles searched and transferred for a chance a big money (200k+) later, then I'll spend the $10k now and see where it goes. But I'm having people tell me that non-participating = low money and people are interested in my mineral interests to get toe-holds in areas to get some leverage on a bigger deal.

Unfortunately, I don't have an unbiased knowledgeable opinion on this. Everyone that gives me information has potential skin in the game.

Can someone give me an idea on whether or not the non-participating makes the above deal super attractive? Or do I wait, what's the potential payout at a later date? I realize its all speculation but I'm hoping for some informed speculation.

THANKS!

I don't know a whole lot (I'm just a royalty owner. I've never worked in the industry.) However, from reading the responses to questions like this on this forum I'd say that offer is way low. M. Barnes should be replying to your question soon. He is quite knowledgeable.

What you need to determine first is whether you have mineral rights or just royalty rights. The mineral rights give you the minerals and the present and future royalty, royalty only means someone sold the mineral rights and retained the royalty on a particular well. Not as good as having all the mineral rights.