Non Consent vs Leasing? Oil is flowing need advice in ND

My family recently found out about mineral rights they are receiving via a death in the family...because the family memeber did not do a lease and the well was built and the oil is flowing we are in a position to decide if we would like to continue down the non concent route or the lease route...I understand the value $$ of leasing but what I dont know is the apple to apples comparison to of non concent partnership. What is the if volumn is equal what is the difference in pay one vs the other? Just a note I am just learning about oil/gas/water. I have caught up quickly on the leasing but now need the non concent position help.

Simple answer. Call the well operator and ask what they'll offer for a lease. How much bonus, and how much in cost free royalty (absolutely no deductions). If they offer attractive terms you might consider it. The lease is the simplest way to proceed.

As for going non-consent, this may be the more lucrative way to proceed. Though it comes with additional headaches. If considering it, the first thing I'd want to know is how much is the well producing. If it's a big well you might cover your share of the drilling expense, plus the additional 50% penalty, in a relatively short period of time. Once the operator recovers those costs your income would jump dramatically. On the other hand, if it is a modest well you may be waiting decades to get the drilling and penalty covered. Now see what others may suggest on your situation. Good Luck.