Newbie trying to get started

Hello all,

I am a newbie to mineral rights. In 2010 I inherited the mineral rights to several sections in Pottawatomie County (as well as Cleveland, Kingfisher, Logan, and Seminole) from my late father. Basically I know very little as my father did not keep good records. I'n not sure how to go about determining if there are existing wells and, if so, whether they are producing. I have watched several very basic video tutorials on mineralrightscoach.com to try to get up to speed on the concepts and terminology but I need to know what I have in terms of acreage, net mineral interest, and existing/planned rigs. Does the SE, NE, etc indicate a further subdivision of the lot? If there are multiple rigs in that section, do I have an interest in each of them? Do operators hold royalties in perpetuity for mineral interest owners that they haven't been able to track down?

Sorry, just not sure how this works or even where to start.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Here are my Pottawatomie properties:

2-8N-4E SE SW

4-9N-5E S/2 SW

5-6N-5E S/2 NE

11-8N-4E W/2 NE/4

20-7N-3E NW

22-6N-3E S/2 SE/4

Donald, I have minerals in 20-7N-3E and and 22-6N-3E also. Many of us were in your situation at one time. My advice, along with responses from others, will help you get started. I notice you have posted this to your other groups, so you will likely get a variety of suggestions and answers to your questions.

Based on what you have said, first download (and print) “Basic Information for the Oklahoma Royalty Owner” Last Revision - September 2012, (Oklahoma Corporation Commission) found at http://digitalprairie.ok.gov/cdm/ref/collection/stgovpub/id/241683 . This 37 page (+ cover) guide is excellent - lots of good information! This will help with the SE, NE, etc. question you asked. It will also start you getting enough background to ask questions on this forum that will get responses. Looks like you are off to a good start.