Newbie here. Appreciate info on activity in 8S/2E S1

I grew up in Ardmore but have lived elsewhere since college, currently in Oregon. I have some minerals inherited from my parents but am new to this ‘game’. I just received an offer from RD Williams Co. offering $500 per nma for 3 yrs and a bonus of the same for 2 more years. Reading through the comments it seems you actually are signing for 5 years. Some advise declining the 2 years or adding an ‘elevator’ of 150%? Is there activity in this sector? Is this first offer of $500 ‘good’ or below current market? Is it ‘common’ to call and offer to sign for a higher amount and what is reasonable in this market? I’d like to obtain what’s fair but not chase the offer away. I recall Dad telling me to always lease; “a little of something is better than all of nothing”. An help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Great questions! Yes, the first offer is their “best” offer because it’s a negotiation. And there is no reason to rush to sign. The most important things in the lease are: 1-the royalty because it is your long term income, I have finally gotten 20% on some leases and others 22%. Big difference in the long run, 2-an exhibit A addendum that protects you from added costs and includes a Pugh clause which frees other zones that can be leased on your interests. (Good examples of these can be found on this website.), 3-no extension. 3 years from now the world will be different. Your dad is right if you are in a area that does not generally produce good wells. But I think Love county is better than that. Do some research on the above and remember it’s a negotiation. Like selling a used car - they want it for as little as possible and you want what it is worth. RD Williams has always been fair with me. Good luck

1 Like

Just leased in sect 11 8S 1E @1/5 - 3 Yrs w/2 Yr option for $700