New user/Mineral rights

I’m new to this topic. My father left me his mineral rights back in 2003. I had no idea I was supposed to go to the county courthouse where they are to be put in my name. We are taking a road trip next week to do just that. How do I find out if I have had the land, where my mineral rights are, drilled on? Please excuse any improper use of verbiage as I am new to all this!! Thank you!

Hello. Welcome to The Mineral Rights Forum! We are all new to this at one time but don’t worry there are many knowledgeable people here from about everywhere. First off, what state are the minerals located in? Every state has a different online system and Texas seems to use a different style of legal description. Also, what is the legal description of the property? An example for Oklahoma would NE1/4 Section 15 T5N 3W. Will be needed for the professionals on this forum to give a good answer. That will get a start on this.

Good Luck, Josh

Welcome to the mineral world.

You might want to check in with the courthouse for your county before you hit the road. Many are still shut due to the COVID-19 virus guidelines. They may be answering phones and emails, but the doors are not open. Ask what they require as you may be able to do all of it by mail.

There are many online resources to find out where your minerals are and if they have been drilled. You would have to tell us where they are by State, County and description so we can point you in the right direction.

Thank you! I’m sorry, like I said…I’m new!! Mine are in Texas. I have the tract numbers, where they are located (Wood County) and last night I was able to find at least one area of the 150 acres but I just don’t know how to look up drilling. Thanks for mentioning COVID. I didn’t even think of that. I’ll make a call on Monday to see if they are open yet. Thank you both!