New Mineral Rights Owner - Williams County, ND

After a family probate, I came into possession of about 120 net acres of mineral rights in Williams County, ND spanning over 11 different tracts. I've done a little GIS research and determined that there is heavy activity on these acres.

I have the "Co-Personal Representatives' Mineral Deed of Distribution" which contains the legal description of the acres in question. How do I proceed to collect any suspended royalties owed? Do I need to get a title abstract? Do I reach out to the operators directly?

How much is the average acre of mineral rights worth in royalties in Williams county, Beaver Lodge and Capa oil fields where I can see multiple active sites per tract?

I'm very new to this and any advice I can get would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Jack,

Get your deed recorded in Williams County first thing. You can subscribe to the NDIC and get information on drilling on each of your tracts. You may find that you have been force pooled, ignored, unleased or held by production from old wells. Each tract may be different depending on the amount and legal location. There are some important filings that need to be make in ND to protect your interest against takings. The forms are generally found on line at the county recorder's office or on the generous members of MRF.

Once you have figured out your potential claim to revenue, the Accounts Payable Department of the individual operators will be a good place to start. Title Abstracts are usually done by operators in the form of Division Order Title Opinions; confidential documents held by the Operators' land departments.

Eventually you may want to get the acreage potential evaluated before spending too much on legal title work.

Hi Gary,