New member with questions

I am new to all this oil talk and have a few questions. I along with my family, (siblings, aunts, uncles etc etc…) own the mineral rights on a quarter section of land which an oil company has been drilling/working on since December. I have been checking The Million Dollar Way website, and oil and gas division website quite regularly for any information. First - What does it mean when they say - This well is on 160-acre spacing? And secondly, when the well starts producing who will get to share in the royalties? I have been told that we will have to share with the mineral owners of the land on the East and West of our quarter section. And thirdly, The well is out of confidential status, does anyone know of any other websites other than the two I mentioned which will give us good information on the progress of a well? Thanks for any info.

160 acre spacing means a well pulls oil from 160 acres. You will have to share royalties with whomever owns the oil under those 160 acres. The oil and gas commission website for your state will have all the information on permits and oil wells within your state.

Lisa is right, but that 160-acre spaced well might be on a 640 acre unit. The spacing simply means you could only have 4 wells in the unit. Any idea how big of a unit you were pooled into? That will tell you how many acres you'll divide the royalties by.

Thanks Lisa and Reagan. Reagan, what do you mean by pooled into? Would I find that info on the lease? Thanks

It doesn’t mean a well pulls oil from 160 acres, not at all does it mean that. Pulling, or producing from, is not so precise procedure as to do such impossibility and the mineral owner who has minerals adjoining but not within the spacing would also beg to differ.