Negotiating a lease of mineral rights

My siblings and I have oil and mineral rights in Richland County with a lease that expires this May. My brother, who negotiated the current lease, has since passed away; so I am new to the process and would appreciate your recommendations. Do we contact the oil company of our current lease? Do we contact more than one company? Is it too early to make the contacts? What are the going rates? Should we work through an attorney? Thank you for any help you may be able to give us.

Harvey

We used an attorney. We felt he guided us for the right wording in the contract. You need some guidance from the oil company's slant in their favor. You didn't say where you were located to find an attorney. I used Mike Zimmerman in Billings, MT. His costs were reasonable and got us a fair contract. Make sure you each have your own contract. Hope this helps.

Thank you, Joanne. That does help. I live in Western Washington but our mineral rights are in Richland county, MT. Thank you for the attorney reference. So did Mike Zimmerman help with your contract for your Richland county mineral rights even though he is in Billings? Did you negotiate as a group but then get separate contracts for each owner? Do you negotiate directly with the oil company; then work with the attorney for the contract? Sorry, I have so many questions.