Need to Transfer Mineral Rights from Dad to Children

My father passed away eight years ago and we just recently found out that he owned mineral rights on three wells, two in Canadian Co. and one in Major Co. What do I need to do to get these transferred into his children's names. I have copies of the mineral deeds but these were not part of the trust when my parents passed away. I live in Kansas but still have an Aunt that lives in Oklahoma that made me aware of these mineral rights. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ms. Blevins,

Disclaimer: I’m not a professional

These can get complicated and depend on quite a few details.
The state he was a resident of when he passed?
If there a will (if there was a trust there usually is a will)
What the will says. (I understand some wills have a catch-all to place everything owned personally and not specifically listed to be placed into the trust for final disposition)
What the trust says. (If the will ties items into the trust).
Was his estate probated? And in what state.
The value of the estate if it was not probated.
The order in which your parents passed.
If the surviving parent remarried.
Trustee of the trust and if they are still living
Executor of the estate
Information in mineral deeds you have in hand. Since you mentioned the Aunt, it sounds like they were from his parents to your father and his siblings. It is a good thing these deeds exist. I have seen several cases where they were not correctly passed for several generations.

It is very likely you will need an attorney to do it correctly and maintain marketable title. While it is not uncommon to see affidavits of heirship used in some of these instances, it does not maintain a chain of marketable title. Eventually, something will come up. From what I have seen many people go through; I feel the sooner it is done correctly, the less it is going to cost you long run.