Need help! Weld County Oil & Gas Lease T7N, T9N

Hello,

I was recently contacted by a landman requesting to purchase oil & gas lease rights on 168 Mineral Acres (947 gross acres) I inherited from my Grandfather. I've been reading the forum and learning a lot in the last 24 hours. I'm a rookie though and really have very little idea what is a fair deal. It appears we are in a pretty good location. I don't want to make a bad decision here so would appreciate the advice. The offer we received seems pretty low for the area we are in. Anyone else receiving offers in T7N, R58W and T9N R 56W?? Would love to hear from you all as soon as possible. These have been in my family for a long time and I'd like to make the right decision for my family.

Dan, Don’t sell them! Lease them, I just searched Weld County’s records and there are 63 O&G leases in the past 2 years in 7N 58W; and 18 leases in 9N 56W. Springfield Oil Co, Vecta Oil and Gas Ltd are the principle Companies envolved with a couple leases to Contex Energy. If it were me I would try contacting those companies and solicit a offer from them. I am new at this also Elbert county is in the same Niobrara Shale and from what I read it may turn out to be a Big deal.

Dan -

I am in a very similar situation. My wife's mom and aunt share mineral rights passed down from a long-time family farm. I am trying to ramp up my knowledge to help them make a good decision. I've been trying to find some comps to compare any offers to and also using this site for what we should try to negotiate in terms of the agreement. The one thing I keep hearing is what Mike's reply said - don't sell them!