Minerals bequeathed to me

Hello guys!

I hope you are all good.

I’m Mike and I leave in Athens, Greece. I’m new in this ‘‘sport’’ so please forgive me if i say something stupid

I have an issue with an old will of my mother’s great-aunt who lived and died in Oklahoma. The will state the following.’’ I *give, devise and bequeath to E.P. all of the oil, gas and other and other minerals that i may own as distinguished from any minerals interest that i may own in real property in which i also own the fee title ‘’.

So, i own mineral rights in Oklahoma.

I haven’t done anything about it all these years. Now it’s the time. And here is where i need your help. I have no idea about what should i do to take advantage of this mineral rights.I m far and i have no connection to the States.

Some guidance would be great here because its to complicated for me .

So what are my options? What’s the first step?What should i do?

Thank you

Hi Mike!

Welcome to the community! No stupid questions here - this can be a confusing process!

First, go to the unclaimed property websites for Oklahoma, Delaware, or the last state your great-great aunt lived. See if there have been funds sent to them due to not being able to find the current owner. (just google Oklahoma unclaimed properties, etc. )

Next…do you know which county she may have owned interest in? You can go to okcountyrecords.com and type in your families name and see what comes up. The main thing is in order to claim ownership in the minerals you need to show in the county records how the mineral interests have passed down.

To see if there has been a well drilled under her minerals, you will need to know the legal description/location of where the mineral rights are located. Hopefully when you search the okcountyrecords.com then you can find these.

Another great source of information is the Oklahoma Corporation Website. They are the government agency that oversees the Oil and Gas Industry in Oklahoma.

Best of Luck~

2 Likes