Mineral Royalties/Medicaid

My mother has just been enrolled in Medicaid. I was told her "mineral rights value" would be considered an asset & the value would be deducted from the $2,000 amount that she can retain in her checking acount.

When she was assigned to Medicaid, I was told how much to pay the Nursing Home, w/ her $60 monthly stipend being deducted. I asked again re the mineral rights value & was told she can have $2,000 in her bank account. I asked twice & was told twice this answer.

My worry is, at the end of the year, when she will be reassessed, have I done anything wrong.

I am assuming if she has $1,400 in her account & she receives a royalty check for say, $300, she is ok, bc her account is still under $2,000. I am still worried however, I thought I would need to pay the Nursing Home the entire amount of the royalty check.

Confused.

Shirley, I am not an expert in this field, but it is my understanding if your mother stays under the $2000 asset limit medicaid pays the nursing home and your mom pays a small monthly co-pay.