Mineral Rights

I just got an oil and gas lease from a company called Shale Exploration. I remember my grandparents talking about an oil and gas lease on their land in Montana. This is the same land. I see some posts about the company but I am new to this. The offer is for $150 for a bonus for 5 years and royalties for 1/8th. I've done a little research, but don't have a clue. Help!

Art Vandelay,

Loved your TV show. For O&G you should start by spending the next couple of days reading up on Leasing. On this very site go to the tab along the heading "Mineral Help". Read through the various entries "Oil & Gas 101", "Lease My Land", "Oil & Gas Terms", "Leasing: What Not To Do". Then read through all the posts within this Daniels County Discussion for a little more specific info on current terms offered in the area. Doing a Google search on "Oil & Gas Leasing" will bring up several other sites and posts with useful info on the other important aspects when leasing your minerals.

In part their location and the number of net acres owned will influence the minerals value. So it's hard to say if you should take this offer. Yet I'd start by asking for 3 years instead of five, and 3/16th royalty instead of 1/8th, and something higher for the bonus. Then begin to negotiate with them to see which of these you can obtain. Though as I started this response, begin by learning more about the leasing process as there are many important terms to secure beyond how long, how much, and how much royalty. Good Luck.

Good advice from Art above and I found a book on this site which I purchased at Amazon. 'Negotiating oil and gas leasing ...' by Mike May, P.E. Good information, writing okay, and an easy read. We are dealing with the same company. I ended up contacting a 'local Colorado' lawyer (also a friend) just to get a feel for the document.