Mineral Rights in Campbell County Wyoming

My siblings and I just inherited some mineral rights in Campbell County. I’m a total newbie to all of this, so please feel free to correct me on my terminology.

The acreage is in the Hartzog and Hartzog Draw sections. We get about $100/mo from Denbury and about $30/mo from 88Oil. So it’s not big bucks.

I’m trying to get some information to decide whether we ought to just sell, or whether we should hold on to it. Does anyone have suggestions on how I can start to get this information? Especially so that we don’t get low balled? Thanks for any help that you can give. Thanks.

Welcome to the oil and gas business and to the forum!

Do not do anything until you get very familiar with what you have, what is producing now and what the future potential may be.

For starters, read the Mineral Help tab above. Read all the last year’s posts in the forum for your county and the ones around you. That will get you caught up to date on what is happening.

It has been a tough past year in the oil patch due to COVID drop in demand. Prices are down, so some folks would not want to sell until prices come back up. Others may have a different opinion.

Read the oil and gas news for your area in newspapers, online sources, etc. Read up about your operator and others in the area on their websites. Get familiar with the Wyoming oil and gas commission website. Make sure that your names, address and descriptions of the minerals are filed in the county courthouse. If you just inherited, condolences on your loss. Hopefully the probate attorney has already filed everything properly. Did the probate put a value on the acreage?

Find out if you have more than one possible reservoir that might be drilled in the future.