Mineral Rights and Surface Lease

Does anyone have an idea of who a person might contact who wants to lease property. I have 200,000 acres in EFS area (Gonzales Co.) and decided that it is time to make a move, but not sure how to go about it. I have ZERO knowledge and at this point bought the directory and emailed all the exploration companies a brief description and surface map. Any insight or suggestions are appreciated.

Christine:

I am not familiar with the area you refer to but generally, they will find you if your area is active in regards to oil and gas exploration. I say this especially if you have 200,000 acres which is a very large spread of land. Make sure that your information is properly recorded at the County Clerk's office.

One of the wealthiest families in Texas as well as the USA owns 300,000 acres in Texas. They have armies of lawyers, accountants, they own banks, and much more. I think you have made a typographical error. If not, then I am having a senior moment.

In addition to Ron's comment, it sounds like you own surface and not minerals. Could that be the case?

In all honesty I have been given a map and 58 pages of additional information regarding the land and don't understand any of this. Again, I have ZERO experience when it comes to oilfield or any of this. The paperwork shows 80 Thousand (not typo) consecutive acres, then the remainder is scattered from north to south of county. I am TOLD the total acreage is 200 Thousand. I have all sorts of documents and the property has been handed to me and I am being told to "see what I can do" by the owners. I personally am not the owner. I should have clarified that and did not. Perhaps I have chosen the wrong venue to help this person.?

Christine,