Mineral Right Lease Valuations

I, like many others it seems, am new to the Mineral Right Leasing game. I am in the process of working with an attorney to get my father's mineral rights for property in Sheridan County transferred. My father died in 1980 and I was not aware of the "state" of his mineral rights until recently. As part of my overall effort I am trying to establish some type of value basis for these Mineral Rights. Since he passed in 1980 that is the year basis that I need to use for tax purposes. Is there a way to find the value of what Mineral Right leases were going for back then, so many dollars/acre? From what I have read on line this valuation process is somewhat of a "black art" with many complex variables but if I can just get some examples of what Mineral Rights were actually leased for in Sheridan County back in 1980 or thereabouts that would help tremendously.

My guess is that Charles will catch this post and offer some insight...

..I'm still a two week newbie so I'm not going to be of any help.

..Welcome to the Forum Roy!

Roy: