Mineral Right Inheritance - How to Put Rights in My Name with No Will?

I am new to all of this and was wondering about my deceased grandfather’s mineral rights. How can I get them put in my name or my mother’s name so something can be done with them. My mom was in charge of his estates when he died and he did not mention anything about the mineral rights in his will or trust. She does have other siblings but she has paid the taxes on them for the last 12 years and we do not feel they should have anything to do with it.

Andrew, If your grandfather failed to transfer the minerals to his trust, you’ll have to do a probate to make the title to the minerals marketable. If there’s been a probate – and your mention of a will makes me thing there was – there should be a clause in the will that says, basically, all property not specifically mentioned goes to X. It might be that X is the trust. If that’s the case, then the minerals were put in the trust, even if not mentioned, and the title to them (probably) passed pursuant to the terms of the trust, at least for the state in which the probate was done. If the minerals are in a different state than the state in which the probate was done, you’ll probably have to do an ancillary probate in the state in which the minerals lie. That is a pretty simple procedure in most states. (And, depending on the size of the estate, the state the minerals are in, the value of the minerals and other factors, there could well be some state and/or federal estate tax issues that I won’t address, other than to say: See your lawyer about this.)