Mineral Deed description confusion

I’m relatively new to mineral rights ownership so you will have to forgive me if I am asking dumb questions here. How is it possible to determine the precise location of where your mineral ownership applies by looking at a tract description within a mineral deed?

Here is an example of a mineral interest I own within San Jacinto County TX.

I’ve been able to use the RRC GIS Map Viewer to locate the W.L. Rhotan, William Dobie, and DD Bullocks Surveys (Abstracts 93,257,and 69).

From what I can see, there are some active wells present within those particular tracts. I am not currently being paid by any of the operators associated with those active wells. By looking at the description located in the filed deed, how is it possible to know if I am supposed to be owed royalties from those that are actively producing? The descriptions I have come across in most of the deeds I’ve looked at don’t really give you enough information to able to pinpoint the exact area within a tract you are entitled to royalties from.

Sorry if this question has already been answered here somewhere. I couldn’t find any existing topics out there for this.

Hi ADS-OG, welcome to the forum. You are on the right track, but will probably have to obtain copies of the older pages referenced in your deed from the county records. Unfortunately, there doesn’t appear to be a cost free way to do this on-line, and the on-line records may not go back to the 1940’s. A landman or often a title company can often find those pages for you for a fee. Out of about 2510 acres contained in those three abstracts, you own around 106 acres, so you will need to see the older descriptions to get more detailed location information. Once you have that, you’ll have to compare your holdings to the leased areas of the active wells to see if there is any overlap.