McClain county - verbiage used in lease offers?

I’m new to oil/gas royalties. Finally inherited what was originally my Grandparents wells. I’m trying to right down questions that will save me money by not running to attorney on every little thing - like this:

I’m confused. The majority of my lease offers have been “$XX for x/xx per nma for a 3 year lease” But I have been coming up seeing answers to questions pertaining to this like below:

“The reason the higher royalty is more attractive for most people is because in the long run it can provide a greater return. Also, if a successful well is drilled you will be stuck with the option you chose. Not only will you be bound, but your heirs will be stuck with this as well. Also, it can last many decades and generations.”

I totally understand sentence 1. However… Am I thinking of something else I’m signing that pertains to sentences 2, 3 and 4? I don’t recall signing anything with the verbiage that it’s generations. I pay great attention to what I’m signing and have looked through all of my papers I have signed and nothing is jumping out at me (I only started signing things in the last two months so i was able to do this with no problems)

Thanks, and you’ll see me again!

In Texas, all of our leases have a clause that aintains. the lease as long as there is viable production,called HBP (for held by production) We inherited minerals that have been HBP since the 1930’s, so yes, what you sign now may affect your great, great-grandchildren and beyond.

“And for as long thereafter as there is production.” That is the reason a lease can go on for a very, very long time.