McClain County- Section 8- Township 7N- Range 3W

I recently received a letter from Sven Energy saying I "may" own oil and gas rights under the above described land and they "may" be interested in leasing or purchasing those rights. Options A, B and C. Now, I am a complete novice here, so bear with me. The letter was addressed to my mother who passed away in 2006, but sent to my address. And I do remember as a kid hearing discussions about oil and gas rights. But this came out of the blue, and I have no idea of any interests that may have been or are owned. Short of asking Sven Energy, how do I find information on rights that might be in my mom's name, which would be mine now, since I am the only one left? For all I know, there is 1 acre or 500. I have no idea, and do not know where to begin. Thank you for your help.

What was your mother's name?

First go to

http://imaging.occeweb.com/imaging/OAP.aspx

and type "201206704" in the box to the right of the "Case #" line.

Look at the exhibit attached to the entry "Applic". If you find the name of an ancestor on the Exhibit, you may own under the NE/4 of the Section.

1 Like

Also, since there have been several wells drilled in that Section, check the Unclaimed Property records with the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

Judith Myles.

Her name is not in that court filing, and nothing comes up under Unclaimed Property. But the fact that Sven Energy came up with her name and tracked it to my address tells me her name must be listed somewhere for that area. May amount to nothing, but I do need to pursue it. Any idea how to find ownership in a specific area? Again, thank you for your help.

If you live near Purcell, the county seat, you can go to the County Clerk's Office and look at the Tract Indices for that Section. The Abstract Office also has an index (that is probably more accurate), but they may charge you a fee. I don't have a problem with paying, but some folks don't want to on an uncertain venture.