Looking to lease in 10N66W

Hello, we have minerals in S4,S7,S8, and S18 of 10N 66W. Offer on the table seems awful low but I’m getting nowhere with trying to negotiate. They are actually threatening with forced pooling. I’m new to all of this and consulted with an experienced attorney who gave me an idea of what to expect for a good lease. Can anyone give me any pointers?

Not a ton of activity around you in those sections, closest rigs right now are at least 12 miles away. Additionally, this township would be considered to be on the fringe of the DJ basin. As such, your leverage is limited given that there may only be one operator interested in leasing (or their affiliates that do the actual leasing) here.

Another factor to consider, how large of a mineral interest do you have in those sections? Bigger chunks of acreage to lease gives you some leverage. If it’s smaller interest (less than 80acres or so per section) then you will lose that leverage.

only companies in that area are edge energy. Other companies do leasing for them. I don’t see getting more than $50-$150 in the area if your lucky. If you have an offer higher than that, take it.

We have 25% interest in about 1200 acres in those sections. Offer on the table is $200 and 16.6% up from 15%. After looking at activity just north of us the attorney felt like asking for 20% wouldn’t be out of line. Royalties being more important to us than anything. Looks like advice here is contrary to attorney’s opinion. I was told by the agency trying to lease these for Edge that they were the only option, I found this hard to believe. Edge is only using one agent?

Thanks Cole. If you’re advice is good then we should take the offer. Anyone else have the same opinion as Cole on this?

I don’t know where you are in your negotiations, but I would try for 18.75% if you have not done so yet. No harm in trying.