LLC - 2 lawyers, 2 opinions

Estate Planning Lawyer #1 was pretty insistent I place my mineral and royalty properties in an LLC even though my interests are by far mostly minerals and royalties with only a very few Working Interests.
After doing some research online, it appears I would be paying Social Security for all if I did this, so I consulted with Estate Lawyer #2. He said an LLC is a bad idea. Opinions please. Ann Whitchurch

2 Likes

Usually people will say respond to a post like this and say you should ask a lawyer, but it sounds like you already have…

Did lawyer #2 say why an LLC is a bad idea? LLC ownership is super common. I am an oil and gas lawyer and I own minerals in several LLCs. I am not sure I understand your comment about social security, as you certainly don’t pay social security on a mineral investment.

2 Likes

The type of estate plan may also be dictating the advice. If you only have a Will then maybe Lawyer #1 was trying to avoid probate. My assumption is that Lawyer #1 may also be advising to have a LLC because you own working interest. It could help with liability if something happened with the well. I would also be interested in why Lawyer #2 said it was a bad idea.

1 Like

Not an attorney, but giving my two cents worth. We have an LLC and that has been quite useful. Our attorney also recommended that we put our working interest in a separate LLC to protect from any liability to the other interests. I have actually heard that multiple times at NARO. We just discovered it, so will fix that potential risk. The LLC does not take out Social Security as far as I know. The proceeds are distributed to the members on a regular schedule and they have a K-1 for their taxes. The mineral titles stay with the LLC and as generations pass, it simplifies the estate issues. Other families do a trust.

1 Like