Lincoln County OK Mineral Lease

Hello All, Newbie here. We’ve inherited 80 acres of mineral rites in Lincoln County OK. We’ve been contacted by Grande’ Oil & Gas to lease our mineral rights for 3 years. We’re given 3 options 1) $60 per acre bonus, 1/8 royalty, 2) $50 per acre bonus, 1/6 royalty, or 3) participate in share of well cost drilling. We are new to mineral rights and live on the East coast so we’re unable to travel on site to investigate. Wondering if this is a fair offer to the community of experts here and what recommended next steps should be. Attorney? Mineral expert? Appreciate all your help.

Note: I know this type question is common on the boards butI’ve found differing opinions in the replies and I suspect its due to the fluctuating oil/gas right costs of late. Appreciate any wisdom you all can share.

Thanks!!

I’d say that is low.

Where in Lincoln County is your acreage located? (Section, Township, Range).

Section 32 T16N R5E.

Hi Rick. We received and signed a similar agreement last year for an adjacent section. Nice to know the project is still alive. There are many previous posts in this forum for things to consider when you get a new lease. There hasn’t been any new activity in those sections for decades, so it’s nice to see something is possible.

Welcome to the forum. Grande has been leasing in late 2020 in 30 & 31 in the 1/8th and 1/6th royalty rates. Prices are not public until there is a pooling for comparison. No pooling in the last 999 days.

First thing, you may or may not have 80 acres. The 80 is likely to be a gross tract of which you own a part due to fractionation of ownership through the generations. But it it possible if the tract was not partitioned over the years.