Legal advice on closing papers and deed transfer

Hello,

Dear Members,

I have 10 acres of farm land In Ward County. I hit a bump in my life now and I need it to sell my land. But I don't know how is the procedure with closing papers and the deed transfer.

How is the procedure with deed transfer? I need to know before I put my land up for sale..

Thank you?

Adrian, I'm a realtor in Texas.

Since your property is in North Dakota, I'm going to suggest that you call the North Dakota Association of Realtors and ask them to refer you to several realtors who sell land/farms in/around the city your land is located.

They should have current sale's experience in selling 1.) unimproved country acreage ( raw land) and/or 2.) country acreage with improvements (barns, ponds, maybe a house). Ask them, each, to send you a list of recent sale comps (comparable sale prices) in your area.

Interview the realtors and decide who you feel comfortable doing business with and who was the most helpful. They will ask you to sign a Listing Agreement. Tell the realtor that you want a NET CASH sale price. A NET sale price is when the buyer pays ALL closing costs. So when an acceptable offer is made and signed (you don't have to accept the first one), the realtor and the title company (where the Closing will take place) will do the rest. Ask buyer to pay for the survey if you don't already have one. Sell your property "AS IS" and be sure that realtor writes "AS IS" in the offer.

I think you should also know that an offer is only an offer, until BOTH parties have signed. Only then will it become a CONTRACT. Feel comfortable with all the terms before you sign.

Good luck,

Pat

I forgot to add something important ... mineral ownership.

You should also consider whether you want to let your minerals go with the land or keep them. Land price should go up with sale of minerals.

In Texas, many land owners keep their minerals.

Good luck,

Pat

Hi Pat,