Leasing Mineral Rights for Dummies

I am new to the discussion and hoping to find some guidance on this site. Since my mother has been diagnosed with dementia and I have now assumed Durable Power of Attorney, I find her mineral lease in Reeves County expires this month. If Anadarko Petroleum has sent her anything, she has thrown it away. Family that own minerals adjacent to ours have been offered an extended lease, but I can't get answers. If we have not leased the minerals before the lease expires what happens? What should be my next move?. Also, what is a fair market value for minerals in Reeves County, section 17?

Melissa,

Unless the original lease says otherwise, the lessee (in this case Anadarko) is not usually required to seek permission from the lessor (the mineral owner) to exercise the option to extend the lease (assuming the lease allows for an extension). If your mother has thrown anything away it could have been a check that Anadarko sent in response to exercising the option. I would be happy to review the lease for you and give you my thoughts. Feel free to email it to me at david@hilltoproyalties.com

Ideally the original lease did not have an automatic extension in it, and once the lease expires you can negotiate a new lease with Anadarko or a third party.

David

Melissa, so sorry to hear about your mother. Before I forget, there’s a great site, caregivers.com in case you need some support in that regard. There are many Section 17 in Reeves County. Do you have a Block (BLK) number or an abstract number, usually (A-number). Also, the survey name is important. That will help a lot. Others will chime in here shortly, and I look forward to visiting with you in the future. You don’t have to rush into anything just because lease is expiring. Take your time, learn about it all, then make an educated decision. Good job getting Durable POA, can tell you’re doing your homework. Best of luck. Linton