Leasing agreement offer

Hello all,

I am new to the mineral rights idea and have just been made an offer on mineral interests I own by inheritance. I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is a fair offer for the area the land is located in. Since there is no Webster county group on this site, I am hoping someone close by has had some experience with this. The property is 72 acres in Webster County Kentucky. I own 1.4966 net acres, as do both of my brothers. The terms offered are as follows:

1. One dollar per net acre bonus for consideration

2. One-eight royalty

3. Three year primary term

4. One dollar per net acre annual delay rental

5. One hundred dollar signing bonus

Any insight would be appreciated.

Melissa

Who would make such an insulting offer?

Get them to spend time preparing a lease in writing and then tell them to take it put it where the "sun don't shine".

Walter

They did prepare an offer in writing....those are the main points. I'm sure I would put it quite that way...LOL..but I'm definitely not ready to just jump at whatever gets thrown at me either.

Hi Melissa,

Are there any wells around your property that you can ask the owners what they received for bonus? Like Walter said, $1.00 per mineral acre does sound like an insult. Why not tell them you want $1000.00 per acre. At this point you certainly have nothing to lose. Also tell them you want a 20% royalty. The worst they can do is say no or make a counter offer. Good luck with it.

Yours,

Wes Luke

Melissa Strojek said:

They did prepare an offer in writing....those are the main points. I'm sure I would put it quite that way...LOL..but I'm definitely not ready to just jump at whatever gets thrown at me either.