Lease Renewal Reeves County

Three years ago I was a newbie and it would seem I still am. My lease was up in Sept. and my operator now tells me they can stay where they are without lease renewal as long as the well is producing. Did I miss something along the way? Is this proper protocol? Any and all help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

That would be correct if they are producing (although I have not read YOUR lease) and paying you royalties. Will be month to month you can say until the close shop. What block are you or part of Reeves? I’m in same boat as you, 3 year lease now extended as we have a producing lease now.

Yes, that is normal on most leases. Read your lease and there may be some wording along the lines of “It is agreed that this lease shall remain in force for a term of __________ years from date (herein call primary term) and as long thereafter as oil or gas. or either of them, is produced from said land by the lessee.” The primary term is the time in which the operator can choose to drill, but is not required (unless the lease says so). Once there is production, the lease moves into the secondary term and remains in force as long as there is production or any of the “savings” clauses of the lease are in force.

1 Like

Read that and it was followed by a 90 day non-production statement basically stating that the lease was terminated if there was NO production for a consecutive period of 90 days. This of course is my understanding of the wording. I read your business profile and must say I am highly impressed; Thank you for your response.

SE/4 Section 136 Block 13