Lease Offers McClain County OK

So I am new to this process of leases and offers. My grandfather left me 22 acres in McClain county. I have an offer for $500 per acre for 3 years. 2 year 3/16th royalty share.

I have no idea what others have been offered. What they are getting. If this is a good offer or not. I'm literally totally blind here. Trying to educate myself. May I ask for some people here to guide me in the right direct?

Thank You

Welcome to the Oil Business!

First of all, tell the Section-Township-Range, so we can help with respect to the activity.

Do not take a two year option. Do not take the first lease they give you as it is not in your favor. Don't let them rush you. You have plenty of time to learn about how to do this correctly.

If you want to friend me, I will walk you through it. To get a heads up on what is happening, read the last six months of the McClain, Grady, Garvin and Stephens forum to get most of your questions answered. There are some excellent links that are posted. I keep a running excel spreadsheet with keywords as to what each one is about. Too many for a FAVORITES list. Also read the MINERAL HELP and the BLOGS listed above. Then go read the latest investor presentations for Newfield, Continental Resources, and Marathon to get you started. Look at the maps.

M. Barnes gave you good advice. Don't take any of the options to re-lease after the initial offer in the companies favor. I think that amount might be really low but the section-township and range would make the difference. If you are in the SCOOP/STACK play I'd ask for more money and at lease a 1/5th interest. Oil is coming back up but of course we don't know exactly when it will rebound to what it was only last year but it will be back and you don't want to take a low ball offer. There are some really smart people on this forum (and others) of which I am not one. You will do well to take their advice.

Thank you.