Lease offer

Kingfisher County, Section 1, Township 17N-Range 8W

We've been offered $750 per net mineral acre, 1/5 royalty, 3 year term or

$1000 per net mineral acre, 3/16 royalty, 3 year term by Shale Energy LLC

Anyone know if this is a fair deal?

Also, I'm a newbie, but I'm wondering is there oil and/or gas here, if they plan vertical or horizontal drilling, and at what depth they plan to drill. How can I find out this information?

Go to the OK Corporation Commission at http://occeweb.com/. You may be able to find info there. As for the Bonus and royalty interest you have been offered I will make the observation that with even a modest well -- the higher the royalty the better. Royalty checks can go on for many, many years and can contribute more to you and your family (and heirs) over time. The bonus money is always appreciated - but it can be a one time event. When that party is over, it is over! I have difficulty as a small mineral interest owner negotiating a 1/5 interest.

The offers are close to what we got in S1 T19 R8W. Never settle for the first offer! Counter offer, haggle, counter offer again, haggle some more. (Is "haggle" a real word?) Sometimes they will tell you that you have to make a decision "Now!", but you don't. Call other companies to see if they are interested in leasing. If you know other mineral owners in the section, or surrounding sections, check with them. Remember, you have something they want, and if they want it bad enough, they will pay you enough.

Thanks Susan!

Googled "haggle," and it's real, of course.

Do you know if there is a general rule in haggling? For example, do you ask for double what they originally offer? Or 50 percent more? 25% more?

In our case, would asking for $1500 per acre and 1/4 royalty be in line? Not trying to be greedy, it's just we don't really know.

Thanks again.