Lease offer wondering if this is good

200 acres total being the east 200 acres of the north 400 acres of section 15 block C33 PSL survey. $500/acre 25% royalty 3 years with option for 3 more years. Im a newbie to this and this forum. What do you guys think of this offer. Thanks

Skip the option - unless you get paid again

Why is the “option” generally considered a poor choice? Just wondering.

You are essentially giving 6 year lease for one bonus money.

Many would argue that an option is a win only situation for the lessee. If the oil play/prospect is successful, the lessee can elect to extend the lease at a much lower cost than if it were attempting to buy into a hot area. If the play/prospect is a dud, then the lessee has no obligation to extend. As others have mentioned, make sure your lease forces a second bonus payment equal to the original if the lessee extends the lease. I believe most leases have three year primary terms and that the options tend to have lengths of two years. I saw that Prestige Exploration Inc. has recorded a number of Gaines county leases in Blk C33, including section 15. You might contact some of the other lessors and try to learn what they received as to bonuses, lease language, etc. The lease you will be asked to sign will most likely be very favorable to the oil company. If you hire an oil and gas attorney, you could win valuable concessions, or the opportunity to lease might come and go while you are haggling about lease language. Your level of risk tolerance will help instruct your next steps. Have your minerals ever been leased?

In my experience with options to extend, you are paid the same bonus twice. Once for the first three years and another exact same bonus for the extension which I thought was typically two years.

If you need a good attorney I would recommend Patrick Flueckiger of Austin.