Lease offer Shelby County Texas

Oil, Gas & Mineral Lease SN Hall, A-316; AJ Giffis, A-258 JM Hughes A-963: Nicholas Edgar, A-190 424.4 Gross Acres / 35.36666 Net Acres Angelle & Donohue Oil & Gas

Offering $600 per net mineral acre paid up bonus 3 year primary; 3 year extension option @ $600 per net mineral acre
1/5 royalty> Help?

I have no experience with this & looking for input/help. I starting looking into it and my grandparents had at least 20 other leases they signed They do not appear in production. Just found out about those.

I am not familiar with the bonus amounts in that area, but I would never go for a three year extension. Also, if you are new, it would be wise to get a good oil and gas attorney to look over any draft lease as they are rarely in the mineral owner’s favor.

Welcome to the forum. The directories tab above has several qualified TX attorneys.

1 Like

Offers I’ve seen are $500 for 1/5 cost free royalty or $650 1/5 RI. You can ask for higher royalty or bonus, but you do need to make sure your lease actually does what you negotiate . Do you own surface? if so, any limitations you want on surface use? If cost-free royalty is negotiated, you need a gross proceeds clause. And so on. Remember the landman is not being paid to represent you, so seek your own legal counsel.

Thank you J Walker. Additionally, I have found a lot of other mineral leases my father and grandfather/grandmother had in Shelby County. They are all deceased and I’m looking for help evaluating them. Can I email them to you for review/consideration?

I can probably look them up online on the county clerks website if you will give me your grandparent ‘a names as given on the leases , and the range of years leased ( 1930 to 1980 ) for example.

Dr Edgar Hands, :Lucille P Hands, Edward B Hands starting 1930’s through today. Last one I saw was 2008 but possible their are others.