Lease offer from BB Land for our mineral rights in Pleasants Co

I am new to this and trying to get as much information as possible. I have been to courthouse and pulled original deed to my 2nd grt grandmother. According to BB Land we only own the mineral rights which were passed down from my grt grandfathers half sibling. I have a copy of the tax map showing the parcel number and location. I also pulled a 1910 farm map showing the land purchased. With all that being said, I am needing help with the lease offer too. It is offering $2000 an acre and 15% royalty on the gross production. It says my “proportional interests in the tract is 0.066666667 meaning I own 0.033333333 net mineral acres.” There are two other heirs to these rights to the best of my knowledge. Can someone guide me in the best direction to A) find where we originally inherited the rights and B) negotiating this contract to our best interest. Thanks so much for any input.

For A), you said you have the original deed to your greatgrandmother. Was she the grantor (conveying it to someone, perhaps her child?) or grantee (it was conveyed to her)? If you tell us what you know (don't have to mention names if you don't want) some of us could help you with a strategy to look things up.

For B) I recommend finding an attorney who can help you. Kyle Nuttall, a member of this forum, is very good. There might be other good ones as well. It is always safe to assume that they don't start with their best offer. Also there are a lot of important things in a lease besides the money.

It is great that you have done so much work so far in figuring this out.