Lease Activity Requirements

What actions must be taken by an oil company in order to tie a lease up. Example: If the lease agreement expires May 15 but some type of surface work (such as an access road to well site, pit area completed) has been coducted at lease site in April, does this tie the lease up whereas the expiration would not apply?

I have heard, that in the past, that operations were claimed to be going on simply for staking a site. I don't know how that turned out. In the staking case I'd get a lawyer. If they built a road and dug a pit; I'd say [ personally ] that they have commenced operations. If they built a road and dug a pit and then did nothing for 90 days after [ Grace period in the lease I just looked at ] then they don't seem to be conducting operations. I'm not a lawyer. I suggest you get a lawyer in this situation. RWK

Mr. Mallory,

First, what state?

Second, what does your lease say? Some say "drilling operations" and some say "operations for drilling (a more liberal clause)"

In some jurisdictions, the act of staking a well was considered "operations for drilling" as long as other operations were prosecuted as a reasonable and prudent operator would conduct.

Our lease form provides that the well must be staked, turning to the right and spudded in with a well capable of reaching permit depth prior to the expiration of the primary term.

First place to look is the language of the lease to which you agreed.

Mr. Cotten: