Landman for dummies

Could anyone recommend a resource (internet, etc) that I can use to self educate re: survey, plats, units, sections, quads, etc? I am a newbie, own minerals, but am challenged by all these land man terms.

This is not a do-all, end-all, but a lot of people read "Oil and Gas in a Nutshell" by Lowe. It is available on Amazon.

Remember, that this is a very elementary book, but should get you going.

Buddy Cotten

The book Mr. Cotten recommended is very helpful. I would also recommend joining and attending a NARO (National Association of Royalty Owners) convention in your mineral rights state. With that being said, always seek professional help in an area of business you are not fully familiar with. There are many oil and gas attorneys, mineral managers, and other professionals in the business that will help you maximize your minerals at a reasonable fee. With this help and expertise, you will quickly be able to recover any extra expense you may incur while seeking out this help.

Mr. Garrison, Depending on which state your minerals are in; there are a few carved-in-stone Surveying tips I can give you for free.

Typical states are broken into Townships of about 36 squares called Sections, which are usually a mile on each side.

Ranges are an indicator of how many Townships away from the Central/Principal Meridian (usually a line that splits the state into more manageable areas), and are usually East or West of the Meridian.

Townships are usually North or South of the Meridian, but are set by the states as to where they start.

A typical "Plat" is actually a Survey drawing of an area that's being considered for construction, etc., and shows the lands involved, and some adjacent tracts.