Just discovered 3 yr, ongoing gas production - we have a lease with Cheasapeake but No division order ever sent

This is my first time writing in this forum.

I and my sisters own mineral rights in Woods County, Oklahoma, but we live in Nebraska and we sold our surface land. We renewed a lease with Chesapeake in 2008 for 3 years. Upon investigating whether or not our lease would again be renewed we discovered that a horizontal well had been established which reached under our section (24, Township 28N, Range 18W).

Apparently, although production began in late 2008 we were never notified or sent a division order. First, Chesapeake denied we even had a lease with them. Then they claimed that they had not sent us a division order because they didn't have our addresses!!

Now, they say they will send us one, but won't give us any information regarding the extent of what natural gas has been retrieved or how much we are owed until we sign the order. I believe that the well is called Beehive and the entry well is actually in section 13 (north of our section 24).

Thus, my questions....

Does anyone know anything about this well, how it is producing, how many parties are involved etc.

Has anyone heard of this type of thing happening before..are we entitled to interest on the monies we should have already received?

Any suggestions on where we can go to find out such info?

Do we need an attorney? etc.

Thanks for any help or info anyone might have.

J. Gray

Joni -

I would advise that you discuss the matter with an Oklahoma Oil and Gas Attorney as soon as possible and before signing anything.

Depending upon the amount of your mineral interest and royalty income, there may be a point of diminishing return on what an Attorney might cost, but I would definitely suggest tht you talk it over with one.