J E Heintz Lease, 1944 - 6N 21E Sec15

Looking for information on this lease, specifically percentage holders. I’m new to this, a new trustee for an old trust whose oil&gas leases have been lost over the years. Sheridan Oil claims we have an account on this lease but say it may take a year for them to get it sorted. So I’m Nancy Drewing it. Thanks for your help or advice.

Are you talking about a well called the J.E. Heintz #1 drilled in the SE4 of the SW4 of 15-6N-21E? It was completed in 1951. Sheridan owns this one. Still online, so probably the one you are interested in. The lease would be filed at the county courthouse in Beaver County. The digital files do not go back that far, so you would need to get a landman to find it or visit yourself and pull the files for that time frame.

There is also a Heintz B-1 well drilled in 1977 in the SW4 of the SW4. Last production was in March 1995. LC owns this one.

1 Like

That’s it! The county clerk was helpful but told me the same thing you did-- that I’d need a landman to research it. I guess I’ll wait for Sheridan to call me back, even though they said it could take a year. (?)

Ms Barnes, I love your bio and reading answers you’ve given to other questions. I have inherited a small portfolio of oil & gas leases as a trustee. Any threads you’d recommend on this Board for quick learning of mineral rights management. Books? Where can I read about the value of creating an LLC for the portfolio? And finally can I find NARO classes in San Diego CA? Thanks again! Miss Foy