Is this a fair offer for Caddo 29-09N-11W?

My father received an offer of $36,000 from Castlerock to purchase 10 NMA located in Caddo County: 29-09N-11W They’re pressuring him to sign quickly which raises a red flag for me. I’m new to this and just starting my research, trying to get up to speed. I’ve heard that a rash of letters go out to mineral owners, just to see if anyone will bite and I’m wondering if this is what’s going on with my father.

Does this seem like a reasonable offer?

My father said he receives a very small royalty check each year (less than $100). I see that there is some production listed on the OTC website (around 180 barrels of oil a quarter and anywhere from 84-594 MCF of natural gas a month, for the past year), but I don’t know enough to understand what it means. The “Total Space Lease Acreage” is 640, so I think the royalty my father receives is just based on the 10 NMA he owns. Is my understanding correct?

There is also another identification for the property on the offer letter: “S/2 NE/4” What does this mean?

Thanks for any help!

A good translation for the tract would be “the southern half of the northeast quarter” of the section. The northeast quarter would be 160 acres. The southern half of that would be 80 acres. This is just a description of the tract not of net mineral acres owned.

My first reaction

1. The land men will try to get the property at the lowest price they can
  2. The pressure to move fast is driven by 2 factors- they want you to accept their first offer- it’s normally a good deal for them and not a fair representation of the true market value and secondly, they want to get the property before other potential buyers do.
  3. They know more than you do about the potential production from this section. They would not try to acquire it for the sake of the current production, so they must anticipate sufficient future production to make it worthwhile. Your royalties would rise if there is successful new production.