Is that my oil/gas you're pumping over there?

I imagine this is a very common question. If I have 80 acres (in Okla.) and there’s a producing gas well on the next 80 to the West, well...what that well is pumping is quite likely to be coming from under my soil, is it not? I’m sure this issue has enriched generations of lawyers, but can someone tell me the outcome? Especially with horizontal drilling (I’m no expert, but I know what “horizontal” means), it seems even more likely that a driller can “lease” a small plot of land, then suck the goodies out from under every other plot for a long distance around the well. Again: how has this been adjudicated? Should I be fighting for my mineral rights? Do my rights go all the way down to China and if so, how does anyone know, at the surface, whose stuff is whose?

I may have chosen the wrong forum -- sorry, I'm not good at this.

Jim,

I had the same questions and found a power point presentation (if I remember right) that maybe interesting to you. However, I'll have to find it again, but will put a note on my computer to look for it for you this week.

Jim,

Here's what I found, even though its out of state and the laws are different, it still gives a good description.

Hope this is helps some.

http://www.wvsoro.org/resources/pooling_unitization/slide_01.html

Jim and Kaye,