Invoking Pugh Clause?

Is there any downside to invoking (IDK if that is the right word) the Pugh clause in a lease? I guess I’m just afraid that if the additional minerals are used, I would have to renegotiate a lease and I don’t want to do that since I have a pretty good lease now. Minerals are located in Greene County, PA

Hey Sam I have some experience with leases, but just want to understand your question here a bit. Are you currently negotiating with the landman on a lease OR are you only included with some of your acreage in a unit and you want all of it to be included by “invoking” the Pugh clause?

Just want to make sure I understand your question

1 Like

Hi Khaled! No, these leases were negotiated over 5 years ago. Some of the acreage is in a unit but a large part of the acreage is not.

From your response, I may not understand the Pugh clause. My assumption was if I sent them a letter and asked to have the minerals not included in the unit released, they would release them so I could potentially re-lease in the future. Is that not correct?

Thank you in advance for any insight you are able to provide.

1 Like

Hi Sam,

The Pugh clause is added to the lease as an “addendum” or modified when your negotiating the lease with the E&P company. Did you have that put into the lease? If it hasn’t been added at the time of the signing, the company can pool whatever acreage into the unit to use and the other acreage left out will be held with the unit, just not being paid on.

Companies will not break lease contracts to satisfy.

I hope this helps answer your question?

Good Morning Nick. Thank you for your reply. Yes, the Pugh clause was added as an addendum at the time of signing. I just wasn’t sure if there was a “downside” to releasing the minerals not being used. Such as, would I have to sign a new lease or what happens if they did release the other minerals and I refused to sign a new lease if new lease terms were offered.