Inherited mineral properties

Hello my name is Steve, I live in FL & I’m new to the Mineral rights forum & new to how mineral rights processes. Last year I inherited mineral properties (4) located in Oklahoma County, OK. One describes Mineral Interest in in an S-T-R in an Estate Lease/Unit on a few hundred acres. What is the procedure to reach out to them?
Two have an address. The other is described as “_ _ _ _ _ _ Funds in suspense. What does that mean? Thank you! Steve

Welcome to the Forum! Condolences on your loss that led to your minerals. Many of us have had that experience.

First of all, get a list and description of the four locations. If you have probate documents you will have to file your name and address and descriptions in each county where they are located. If the will was probated outside of OK, then you will need additional documentation (many posts on the forum on this topic).

You will need to reach out to each of the Operators for the acreage and get any heirs names into pay status. They will have their own title requirements (which will also usually require probate information.) You are looking for the Division Order department or Owner Relations.

If you post the locations in the counties and add the section, township and range, then we can tell you where there is activity and who the operators are.

The operators may be holding royalties for the previous owner and heirs in suspense. They have a special bank account for that-to hold funds for owners they cannot find. They will hold for a certain number of years and then turn them over to the state to hold. So check the Unclaimed Funds at the OK Treasurer’s office. http://www.ok.gov/treasurer/Unclaimed_Property/index.html

The Oklahoma Corporation Commission also has a place to look for additional unclaimed funds. http://www.occeweb.com/MOEASearch/index.aspx