Inheritance of Mineral & Surface Rights

Hi all,

I'm very new to this so please forgive my asking any of the obvious. Long story short, my dad, died in 2007, had inherited from his parents (both who died in the 1940's when by dad was very young) land and mineral rights to a couple different properties, as far as I know, in Crane and Jefferson Counties, TX. I didn't know about any of this as my father was not good with retaining any paperwork and died without a will and without any property or any real belongings- he also never really kept in touch with his Texas family. I did find a small file titled Oil Lease, but all the documents were from the late 1960's, so I just filed it away, thinking that it was neither here nor there, as my dad never mentioned it to me and I then totally forgot about it.

In 2011 a landman called me (after a month of searching for me) asking me to ratify the lease of a small NPRI interest in Jefferson County. I thought the whole thing was a joke and honestly didn't do my due diligence, but did sign off on it. Have not heard a peep since.

Recently, I started going through my files, and found the oil lease file. After doing some research I realized that the property listed in the file is a different one than the Landman called me about and is in Crane County. I googled the plot numbers and found that it's still listed under my grandfather's name. There were quite a few surrounding properties that also were listed under my family name, so assuming there are lots of cousins, etc that I know nothing about.

Of course, now I'm buried deep in the rabbit hole. I did see that in the 80's it looked like my dad and a few of his aunt's and uncles, did sign a warranty deed for a portion of one of the Crane County properties and were to retain 1/16th of the mineral/oil rights that was to pass on to their heirs.