I'm a Surface Owner- Several Questions

I own a 20 acres in Barstow Texas. I've owned it since 2007. I recently found out there are wells and several large storage tanks on the property now. No idea how long they have been there. I live out of state

I was never contacted by anyone about using my land for drilling & storage.. I have no idea who the company is or who the mineral owner is.

Do companies usually contact the surface owner when they are going to install large equipment like this?

How do I find out the companies name who's using my land? I'm new at this.

I know surface owners have little say, but they are using the whole 20 acres since the road they are accessing is on the other side of the storage tanks and wells.

What can I do, if anything? Advice appreciated

I'm assuming you inherited the property, since I doubt you would have purchased a piece of land without inspecting it.

Perhaps the equipment was installed prior to 2007, under an agreement with the previous owner? Sometimes surface use agreements call for annual payments, but some are simply one-time payments which you would have missed out on.

I believe it is law that the Company information must be displayed somewhere on the premises. I would start there.

I'm in Minnesota so looking at the equipment isn't a option right now.

I didn't see the land when I bought it, It's just flat desert land. Saw maps etc.The previous owner didn't mention any activity on the land at that time.

Larry,

Let's start by giving the Section, Block or Abstract numbers and what County in Texas? ALL the information you have about the minerals in question and post it on here.

Thanks,

Clint Liles

Ward County. Section 181 Block 34 H &TC Railroad survey

I have no information about the wells & tanks on the land