If you could pick one county to buy mineral interest, which would you pick?

I'm new to all this. I inherited my father's very small, but very special mineral interest in Young County. I'd like to buy more mineral interest, but in other counties - don't want to put all my eggs in one basket. I just joined NARO and am looking forward to learning a lot at the upcoming conference in October.

As an NARO member, I get DrillingInfo access to one county. I need to pick carefully because it cannot be changed and a subscription is very expensive - unless someone invites me to participate in their group membership - hint, hint (I'll be happy to pay)!

So, what counties do you guys think are best for acquiring mineral interest?

I was considering something in the Pearsall or Permian basin, but then I saw an article today, talking about a big discovery in the Alpine High shale. Of course, everyone will probably be flocking there and I don't have a ton of money to spend. I won't be running with the big dogs here. I'm just looking for modest mineral interest (or non participatory royalty interest) - probably under 5K to start.

So, tell me, where you buy mineral interest and why? Thanks!

Danna, it's a tough business you are looking to get into. Having mineral interests of my own, I know places I would buy if given the capital and opportunity and I know how much I would pay. I say go with what you know. If you don't think you know enough, I would reconsider this business venture.

Yeah, being told that something will be too hard for me has always been the best way to inspire me. You have to start somewhere and sometimes you have to get your feet wet to really learn. This is one of those situations. I'm not talking about sacrificing money that I would otherwise use to pay bills. I'm also not planning to make a mint doing this. It's simply a hobby and something that makes me feel close to my late father.