I need a lawyer

My husband died last year, and I have inherited his mineral rights in Hughes County. My lawyer in Pennsylvania has informed me that I have to file an ancillary probate in Hughes Co. OK. She hired a lawyer in Oklahoma last year, but he never did the work. After nine months she fired him and contacted another law office, but that lawyer just died. She has found another Oklahoma attorney, but he’s located in Oklahoma City, and I’m going to end up paying him a lot of money to drive back and forth from his office to the clerk’s office in Hughes County. Before I hire this attorney, I hope someone here can recommend a lawyer in Hughes Co. I know there must be a good lawyer in this county. Can anyone help me? Thank you for your help.

He did have a will and it has been probated here in Pennsylvania. I’m not a lawyer, but my lawyer here said that the document I need in Oklahoma amounts to an ancillary probate. She did say they use another name for it in OK. She said it has to be filed in person in the clerk’s office in Hughes County. She thinks I need a lawyer to do this. That’s why I was looking for the recommendation.

Try Harold Heath Law Offices in Holdenville, OK. 405-379-5445. His office did some work (a probate involving mineral rights actually) for me some years ago and I found them reliable. I believe your PA attorney was right in stating that you do need to have an ancillary probate done in OK in order to vest title to you as an heir. AOH will work only to get your inherited minerals leased, but once a well is drilled you’d likely need the ancillary probate done before the operator would begin paying you royalty (depends on the company, but most would require it). If you ever decide to sell, you’d also need an ancillary probate to make your title “marketable” to others.

1 Like

I’ve heard good things about Heath Law as well. Hughes County seat is right there in Holdenville as well.