I just don't "get it" Bakken in North Dakota - Help!

I have 360 acres in the Bakken in North Dakota. Landmen tell me I have 45 “Net” acres and have offered a lease. The bonus is paid on the 45 acres but the lease states all 360 acres. What happens to the 315 acres that are left after deducting the 45 “net” acres. Are they then a part of the lease and can be used however the drilling company decides? Anyone know?

Sounds like you don’t own all of your mineral rights. I only own 35 acres but only own 50% of the mineral rights. I just singed a contract and it states 17.8 acres net. I am new to this so there are probably other reasons as well.

Thank you James. I wonder how one finds out about the other acreage. I am not a surface owner, only the mineral rights. So, I thought that meant that I own the mineral rights to all 360 acres. I live in Oregon and have never been to North Dakota.

James M Miller said:

Sounds like you don't own all of your mineral rights. I only own 35 acres but only own 50% of the mineral rights. I just singed a contract and it states 17.8 acres net. I am new to this so there are probably other reasons as well.

Here in Elbert County CO, you can find out who owns the mineral rights from the county. On line I can search for property, put in natural resources and the section, township and range and find the two owners of mineral rights that are not current land owners. Since you are not the land owner, how did you get your mineral rights? If inherited there are probably relatives who own the other 7/8 (315 acres)

Thank you again, James. I will phone the county and see what I need to do. I inherited the mineral rights.

James M Miller said: