I have no clue what mineral interests I own

Hey everyone. I’ve been receiving royalty payments on around a hundred different mineral leases since my parents passed away in 2016. I never once got any deeds or legal documents that show me what exactly I own. I have no clue honestly- I know the counties, and I pay the property taxes.

Is there any way I can receive information on the tracts I own without having to do a title search? Should I email the companies I’m receiving royalties from? Thanks for any advice, I’m still learning the ropes here.

Time to get out an excel spreadsheet or good old pencil and paper. This is going to take some good old fashioned leg work! You can do it!

First of all, put your royalty checks in order by operator. (Save all statement stubs for seven years for IRS purposes). Then make a list of every well that is on each statement. Many of them may have descriptions next to them with a section, township and range or abstract. Make note of the state and county.

Contact the Division Order or Revenue Department of each operator and ask very politely for their paragraph from the title option for each well that describes what they say you own. Also ask for a copy of the lease that goes with each tract. Some operators are very friendly and others not so much. Be patient. The DO folks are highly overworked. Appreciate them well! Tell them that you are starting from scratch and trying to reconstruct your records.

You did not mention the state you are in, but there are several very free to fairly inexpensive ways to search for your title information. The first place is the copy of the document that gave you the inheritance. The will “should have had” a list of properties. You may have producing properties and properties that are not producing (they may have value as well). (I can give you some of those links if you tell what state. Don’t want to clutter the reply with every potential state.)