Howdy!

Howdy, Glenda! I was worried that I was the only memebr of the Daniels Co. group. I’m very new to ownership of mineral rights & leases, so I can’t help you … except to say that I recently inherited some oneral rights with only half of the necessary paperwork to track down how much, where, & what is happening on the land I have the mineral rights on. I can relate to your concern. Do you live in Daniels Co.?

No, I do not live in Mt. My grandparents homesteaded in Daniels County many years ago. I am now left with 1/5 of a 1500 acre parcel of mineral/oil rights. I will be in Mt. soon and will be seeing a lawyer to file paper work to secure my interests. My situation sounds a bit easier then yours. Good Luck.

Hi Glenda, good to hear from you! Yes, after I wrote my response to your note I remember that you said that you don't live in Mt. Perhaps your trip to Mt. & meeting with a lawyer would help me & my family, IF the lawyer does title searches. I know you're going to secure your interests, but our situations ARE similar. How did you find the name of your lawyer? Could you please let me know if you thought that your lawyer did a good job for you? If so, I will call him & ask him if he would work on our title situation. I would rather do that, using a lawyer who someone else has "test-driven" than just call a lawyer blindly from the phone book.

Who knows - maybe we both inherited some lucky land & the shale oil that oil ompanies are getting by fracturing (or "fracking", horizontal drilling) will earn us enough to pay our legal fees!

Again, good to hear from you, & a Very Pleasant Surprise! I hope you have a good trip & a good outcome.

Hello Glenda,

My grandparents also homesteaded in Daniels County. Our family owns the MR to 940 acres just west of Whitetail

and just recently started receiving leasing bids. Have any landmen or oil companies gotten in touch with you yet?

Glenda K. Coleman said: