How to pursue mineral / royalty rights

I am in possession of an original Royalty Deed dating back to 1937 in favor of my grandfather for royalty rights for oil, gas and other minerals. I know that he had questions about collecting royalties under this deed, but never pursued this issue during his lifetime. The deed identifies the Certificate numbers, Abstract numbers, Survey Numbers, Original Grantees and number of acres, all in La Salle County. Where do I start in figuring my family's current and past rights to royalties?

Was the Deed recorded in the Clerk's office?

Hi John -

WOW! If it is in the right part of LaSalle County, you may be facing an "income problem"!

I have many years of experience reviewing such issues. If you will post a copy of your Royalty Deed I will be happy to take a quick look at your circumstances.

If you would prefer to send me the information privately, accept my invitation to become A Friend on The Forum (which I will send momentarily) and I can provide you with my email address.

One note of caution: Having posted your information on The Forum, you may be (probably will be) receiving a whole slew of unsolicited offers to purchase your interests. I advise that you do not accept any until you know a whole lot more about your situation.

Hope this helps -

Charles Emery Tooke III

Certified Professional Landman

Fort Worth, Texas

Yes. It was recorded.

I am reluctant to publish the deed. I will not entertain and have no interest in any offers. I just need to know where I start in researching this. Thank you.